Do Young People Have To Choose A Career Path Too Early?

According to The Guardian, 1 in 10 University students drop out in their first year. How many of these go for a change in career path? Are young people forced down one route too early?

20 year-old Jamie Riley dropped out of a music course at the University of Derby a couple of months in after he realised it wasn’t for him. It proved an expensive mistake, and he isn’t alone.

“A change of direction has set me back 2 or 3 years and left me with a fairly decent sized debt for a poor decision” he said.

15966907_10209223883531065_1937628074_o
Jamie Riley originally chose to study music, but did a U-turn and has taken steps towards a career in mechanics.

Jamie now studies mechanics at the college he gained a qualification in music from. He tracks the poor decision back to when he was 16: “I had an idea of two college courses I wanted to do but I chose what I thought what was gonna be the easier and more fun, but now mechanics is more of a hobby and I lost interest in music.”

15942364_1271111783007798_1931002368_n
His Suzuki Jimny (above) was used to go off-roading, one of the hobbies that led to his change of career path.

Courses up and down the country often require relevant qualifications to begin the programme of study. This means decisions are often made by young and experienced people who change their mind later down the line.

“I just realised I didn’t want to do the course, I wasn’t interested anymore and I wasn’t enjoying the uni life,” Jamie said.

We asked Twitter users for their opinion on the matter:

 

 

Leave a Reply

