From Sad To Sand – Meet The Man Finding Happiness In Street Performance

Omar Nader, 42, was on the brink of losing everything four years ago, now he’s finding his feet again with sand sculpture street performance.

In November 2012 Omar Nader was made redundant from the factory he was working at in Nottinghamshire. With a family of five to provide for, Omar was worried.

IMG_0287.JPG
Omar’s latest creation

“It was really unsure of what to do or where to go. My wife didn’t work so she could look after our three small children and we had no money coming in.”

Omar details how in the autumn of 2014 after a year and a half of looking for steady work with little success, his family was on the brink of losing their home.

“I was working jobs on zero-hours contracts and I could not guarantee hours. I’m a proud man and didn’t want to turn to benefits but we could not afford the rent on our house and it was looking like we’d have to move and we didn’t know where.”

Eventually in January 2015 while working at a petrol station he had a light bulb moment, which would change his outlook forever.

“I was sitting at work one day and remembered when we were children and my father used to sit with us and build sandcastles with us how much joy it brought me.”

“I thought making sand sculptures on the street would be a great idea.”

Omar now has a supervisor role at the petrol station but three days a week takes to the streets of Nottingham with his creations for the public to enjoy.

“People giving me money for something I love doing is really incredible, I didn’t think a few years ago that I’d ever feel like this.”

“Seeing little children run up wanting to play with my sculptures really makes me smile.”

IMG_0286.JPG
Alfie the dog getting some rest

You can find Omar and his sand sculptures outside Broadmarsh Shopping Centre on Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays.

Leave a Reply

