Full-Time YouTuber JayEx23: “The Biggest Difficulty Is The Insecurity Of It All.”

Jay, 32, is a full-time Gaming YouTuber and Live Broadcaster, with his most popular videos reaching more than two million viewers.

Playing and streaming video games for a living may seem like an easy gig, but we spoke to Jay to find out just how much work goes into it.

“You’ve got to be a bit savvy if you’re going to be a YouTuber,” he said.

“You need to make the most of the opportunities that come your way, have lots of different skills and be a bit of an entrepreneur.

“But if you can’t entertain people with your content, everything else goes out the window.”

jayex23
Gaming YouTuber and Live Broadcaster, JayEx23, from Essex.

He first started uploading videos in 2007. But it wasn’t until 2011 after he had been earning revenue from his YouTube channel, JayEx23, for about six months, that he decided to take the plunge.

“It was very early days and a very risky thing to do at the time. The only real reason I decided to give it a go was because I really hated my job.”

Jay now has over 380,000 subscribers. But even for a successful YouTube channel, the dangers are always there.

“You’re never really in total control of your growth or views,” he said. “You can do your best to try and make it happen, but sometimes it’s just not the right time or place.

“With my channel, 70% of the revenue comes from videos that I uploaded in the past, so if for some reason YouTube stops recommending those to people or people just generally stop watching, that hugely affects my ability to keep doing what I do.”

jayex23youtube
Jay’s YouTube channel and impressive subscriber count.

He also explained the social difficulties he faced when first starting to do this as a full-time job.

“I’d constantly be working on my YouTube content and if it wasn’t that then it would be the gameplay behind the content I was constantly grinding towards.

“I’d work for at least 6-12 hours, or however long I was awake for really.

“These days I’ve learnt that if you do that regularly you miss out on a lot of other things in life and it’s not healthy.”

Now Jay typically works eight hours a day. He said: “Sometimes I do more, some days I have off just like anyone else.

“It’s still work but because it’s revolved around an area I enjoy, I see it more of a lifestyle than a job.”

jayex23-setup
The set-up used by Jay when gaming, recording and live streaming.

Jay explained that he would always see himself as a YouTuber despite regularly broadcasting on Twitch.tv.

“With live streaming, there’s a sense of community – you’ve got that instant interaction with the broadcaster and also the instant interaction with the viewers. But when it’s live it’s raw, unedited, and just you and your personality on show.

“And to be a streamer you’ve got to have a super-strict schedule and I don’t enjoy that. I prefer to have a finished product to upload, show and archive – that’s what you get with YouTube.”

Despite live streaming’s spike in popularity, Jay is certain YouTube will remain bigger overall.

“I’m sure live streaming will grow but it’s almost as if I feel the bigger it grows the less personal it becomes and that takes away from what is so nice about it.”

Jay currently doesn’t have any plans to stop being a YouTuber. He came close to opening his own gaming bar earlier this year but felt that the time wasn’t right.

“It was very close and who knows, maybe I’ll wake up tomorrow and I’ll be like that’s what I want to do.

“That’s the life of someone who does YouTube – you take it day by day, month by month and I never look more than six months into the future.”

You can listen to a clip from our interview with Jay here:

You can find Jay on his channel and social media sites here:

YouTube

Twitch

Twitter

Facebook

Leave a Reply

